Stop Microsoft

Operating Systems => Linux and UNIX => Topic started by: Master of Reality on 7 September 2002, 22:52

Title: apache again
Post by: Master of Reality on 7 September 2002, 22:52
well... i re-installed redhat 7.3 and i cont get apache to work now. I think my httpd.conf is close to what i had it before. I couldnt find the link void main gave (it was probly in a pm that i deleted).

How do i make it so that I can use .cgi files in any directory?

Is there anything wrong with this virtualhost?:
Code: [Select]
(this assuming my external IP is 205.92.81.80... which is really a governement IP in case anyone wants to scan it)
Title: apache again
Post by: voidmain on 7 September 2002, 23:37
You need to add this between your virtual host tags:

Code: [Select]

Obviously the "ExecCGI" is the important part of that, but I also like to use "All" and "Multiviews". You'll also need to uncomment another line higher in your conf file:

Code: [Select]

I believe that is all that I ever do...
Title: apache again
Post by: Master of Reality on 8 September 2002, 00:08
there is one other thing i forgot, and that is how do i stop directory listings?
Title: apache again
Post by: TheQuirk on 8 September 2002, 00:56
Code: [Select]

just remove "Indexes" and it will give you a 403 when you try to browse a directory.

Edit: 300th post   :D

[ September 07, 2002: Message edited by: TheQuirk ]

Title: apache again
Post by: Master of Reality on 8 September 2002, 01:04
i did that and that and i set the 'Port 8000' and www.bobhub.tk (http://www.bobhub.tk) still doesnt work. I dont have anythin g blocking port 8000.
Is there anything else that i would need to do?

[ September 07, 2002: Message edited by: Master of Reality / Bob ]

Title: apache again
Post by: Master of Reality on 8 September 2002, 01:11
it will work on my internal interface (when i type 192.168.0.1:8000 but not 205.92.81.80:8000)
Title: apache again
Post by: TheQuirk on 8 September 2002, 01:27
Code: [Select]

and

Code: [Select]

Try that.
Title: apache again
Post by: Master of Reality on 8 September 2002, 01:34
if i did servername 192.168.0.1:8000 then that would be my internal interface. I want 205.92.81.80:8000 which is my external interface.
and it didnt work when i did 205.92.81.80:8000 or chatroom.fuckmicrosoft.com:8000.

and i tried Listen 8000 first but it didnt work, so i used the Port command: 'Port 8000' and it still didnt work

[ September 07, 2002: Message edited by: Master of Reality / Bob ]

[ September 07, 2002: Message edited by: Master of Reality / Bob ]

Title: apache again
Post by: voidmain on 8 September 2002, 21:08
m0r, search www.apache.org (http://www.apache.org) for "vitual host". That's where I pointed you last time to get you going.
Title: apache again
Post by: Master of Reality on 10 September 2002, 00:35
can someone try this link to the bob hub (http://chatroom.fuckmicrosoft.com:8000/bobhub/) It works on my comp... but it might be that the external stuff aint workin'.
Title: apache again
Post by: KernelPanic on 10 September 2002, 01:43
quote:
Originally posted by Master of Reality / Bob:
can someone try this link to the bob hub (http://chatroom.fuckmicrosoft.com:8000/bobhub/) It works on my comp... but it might be that the external stuff aint workin'.


It works, the backgorund of the left hand frame doent show though.

[ September 09, 2002: Message edited by: Tux ]

Title: apache again
Post by: Master of Reality on 10 September 2002, 02:47
thats because i lost all my pics. I can get them all back within a few seconds though  (http://smile.gif)

oh yeah, i got news from the GizzBob, fortunecity servers are down and that is why the Bob Home is down.... I might host a mirror for the site though.
Title: apache again
Post by: Master of Reality on 10 September 2002, 03:02
The Bob Hub (http://www.bobhub.tk) and MES Chat (http://www.meschat.tk) should both be working now.
Title: apache again
Post by: Master of Reality on 10 September 2002, 08:22
i uncommented AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
and added Options ExecCGI but my cgi scripts still wont work. It is chmodded properly but the browser says that it is forbiddden when trying to run it (http://www.meschat.tk). Anything i gotta do.

 Bob sleep now.
Title: apache again
Post by: voidmain on 10 September 2002, 08:38
First of all, can you view regular HTML files or do you also get "Forbidden" with them? There are two possibilities:

1) You not only have to consider the permissions on your CGI files (should be 'r-xr-xr-x') but you have to make sure you have at least 'dr-xr-xr-x' on every directory leading up to the file.  At least the "apache" ID must have access to the files which includes permissions to enter and list contents of the directory ("root root dr-xr-xr-x" or minimally "apache apache "dr-x------").

2) You need to add a <Directory "/var/www/chatroom"> </Directory> section in your httpd.conf.  That looks something like this:

Code: [Select]

Change the "/var/www/chatroom" to whatever your document root is. You should already have a "Directory" directive for "/var/www/html", if your DocumentRoot for your virtual server is not under that directory then add the section I have listed for you above right under the "/var/www/html" section.

P.S. I just did a little digging from "outside" of your server and it appears that you do have the directory permissions set sufficiently. It really looks like you have the permissions set wrong on $DOCROOT/everychat/everycht.cgi. Is it r-xr-xr-x on that script?

[ September 09, 2002: Message edited by: void main ]

Title: apache again
Post by: Master of Reality on 11 September 2002, 04:39
...it is.
Title: apache again
Post by: Master of Reality on 11 September 2002, 05:00
it is effecting all cgi files, because my ikonboard CGI files dont work from the net.
Title: apache again
Post by: voidmain on 11 September 2002, 05:09
Would you like me to log in and take another look?
Title: apache again
Post by: Master of Reality on 11 September 2002, 05:33
sure, check yer PM.
Title: apache again
Post by: voidmain on 11 September 2002, 06:03
Yep, your permissions are correct and according to your errorlog:

Code: [Select]

Now, where in httpd.conf is ExecCGI not turned on for this virtual host?  Looks like it's turned on to me.  Hmmm, was Apache restarted after the httpd.conf was modified?  Let's see, httpd.conf has a date of Sep 9th, "ps auxwww | grep http" shows Apache has not been restarted since the 8th of Sept.  Looks like you just need to restart httpd so the ExecCGI takes effect (actually just a reload should do it):

/etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd reload
Title: apache again
Post by: Master of Reality on 11 September 2002, 06:10
dammit... i forgot about lookin at the error log and  i changed httpd.conf for a while and kept restarting, the last time i must have forgotten to.
thanx.

You cant test the MES chat room now though... the server is going down,so that it can go on an adventure!