Stop Microsoft
Operating Systems => Linux and UNIX => Topic started by: shuiend on 20 August 2002, 00:07
-
i finally got my wireless network card working in linux and was wondering how i set it up so i can get online with it. i am using suse 8.0 pro. i can ping the computers on my network but when i try to acces something outside the network is says host is unknown. my router is set to let wireless acces the internet and i was wondering how i set up SuSE to do it.
[ August 19, 2002: Message edited by: wild_jester / BOB ]
-
so you have wireless internet or a wireless LAN?
-
i have a wireless lan. my linksys router lets you acces the internet wirelessly. i know the card works and that you can get the internet cause it works in windows. i just need to figure out how to go thru my router to get the internet
-
so you have multiple computers on a LAN. One of the computers is connected to the linksys router.
you need to use the route command to make the computer which is connected to the internet be your default gateway.
# route add default gw 192.168.0.1
would make 192.168.0.1 your default gateway (which you would replace with the address of your router)
[ August 19, 2002: Message edited by: Master of Reality / Bob ]
[ August 19, 2002: Message edited by: Master of Reality / Bob ]
-
Sounds like you do not have your "default router" address set. If you do a "netstat -rn" command it should list your routing table. Your routing table should look something like this:
In my case my local network is 192.168.0.0/24 indicated on the first line and that network is accessible by interface eth0. Without that line the system would not be able to talk to my local network and it certainly could not get beyond the local network. The line that allows traffic from my computer to get beyon the local network is the last line. It is the "default route". Notice the "0.0.0.0" under "Destination" which means all traffic not handled by any other route in the list should be sent through my default gateway "192.168.0.1". In your case it should be the address of your DSL/Cable router. I am not familiar with SuSe's graphical tools but if there is one to configure your network interface there should be an entry for a "default router" or "default gateway" under the interface's configuration. Put the address of your Cable/DSL router there and you should be able to get beyond your local network.
-
thats basically what i said.... only longer.
-
thanks for the replys and i will go try that now. i am think that if that does not work it is because my wireless network card is not set th dhcp. i specify what ip it gets. since it is the one it should get it works. i am trying to figure out how to make it connect to my dhcp now
and thanks for the responds
-
quote:
Originally posted by Master of Reality / Bob:
thats basically what i said.... only longer.
Look at the post times on our messages. I started typing mine before you finished your post so I didn't see your post. If I had I wouldn't have posted myself. (http://smile.gif)
-
quote:
Originally posted by wild_jester / BOB:
thanks for the replys and i will go try that now. i am think that if that does not work it is because my wireless network card is not set th dhcp. i specify what ip it gets. since it is the one it should get it works. i am trying to figure out how to make it connect to my dhcp now
and thanks for the responds
Configuring IP on a wireless card is exactly the same as any other network interface. If it is configured via DHCP it should set up the default router/gateway via DHCP. I suspect that you configured a static IP Adress and did not specify the gateway though. Once you configure it as a DHCP client then you should be fine. By the way, the rules for TCP/IP apply equally to all operating systems. In order to get beyond the local network a "default route" must be set to point to your router. Windows, Linux, Apple, BSD, Solaris, AIX, HP-UX, all the same.
-
ok the code i use to start my card is
modprobe prism2_pci
wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_ifstate ifstate=enable
wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_autojoin ssid=linksys authtype=opensystem
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.101 netmask 255.255.255.0
route add default gw 192.168.1.1
there is a line that has "broadcast <yourBroadcast> " but i am not sure what that means so i do not include it. i cannot connect to my gateway without telling it what ip to have first. that is my problem i think. if i do "route add default gw 192.168.1.1" first then try to ping my router is does not work. i have to specify an ip address for it to be able connect to my lan
-
did you add
route add default gw 192.168.1.1
to your client machines?
-
client machine means the computer i am trying to connect to the router correct? if that is yes then i do put that command in but it is after i have already staticaly made my ip so it does not get an ip from my dhcp server in the router
-
voidman to your reply on the netstat thing i have set my default gateway to the router and when i do netstat -rn this is what i get
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
192.168.1.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 40 0 0 wlan0
0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 40 0 0 wlan0
that looks the same as you had but it still doe snot allow me to get outside of the network
-
quote:
Originally posted by wild_jester / BOB:
voidman to your reply on the netstat thing i have set my default gateway to the router and when i do netstat -rn this is what i get
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
192.168.1.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 40 0 0 wlan0
0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 40 0 0 wlan0
that looks the same as you had but it still doe snot allow me to get outside of the network
Now what is the error message you get when you type:
$ ping www.google.com (http://www.google.com)
and can you successfully:
$ ping 216.239.51.101
If the first one fails and the second one is successful the you have a DNS resolver issue and your network is working. Then all you should have to do is configure the "/etc/resolv.conf" file with the proper domain/search domains and DNS servers.
If you can not ping the second address above but you can ping your gateway address then I will be a little confused as it should work. The only other thing I can think of at that point is possible firewall configuration on your SuSe box may be getting in the way. You might also try a:
$ /usr/sbin/traceroute -n 216.239.51.101
and see how far you get. Also I do not see a route for your loopback device (127.0.0.1).
Also, don't know if you've seen this or if it would be of any help:
http://talk.trekweb.com/~jasonb/articles/linux_wireless2.shtml (http://talk.trekweb.com/~jasonb/articles/linux_wireless2.shtml)
[ August 29, 2002: Message edited by: VoidMain ]