Stop Microsoft
Miscellaneous => Programming & Networking => Topic started by: Master of Reality on 30 November 2002, 03:31
-
i made that directory container after adding
but when i go to any cgi script in that directory it just show the text of the script and doesnt execute it. Is there something somewhere else i have to set??
its Apache 1.3 on Slackware
other problem:
I added
to httpd.conf but when i try to go to http://192.168.0.3:80 (http://192.168.0.3:80) it says cant connect, but i can go to http://192.168.0.3:8000 (http://192.168.0.3:8000) it works. Heres the strange thing, when i looked at the error_log it said that it couldnt bind to port 8000 when i started apache.
I did netstat (when apache wasnt running) and there is nothing at all using the internet (except of course SSH). Apache hates me, i've been lookin through the manual for a while and havent had any luck.
oh ya... i when i added teh listen stuff i also had
uncommented but according to the apache manual it will ignore the port command if Listen or BindAddress is specified.
[ November 29, 2002: Message edited by: The Master of Reality / B0B ]
-
quote:
Originally posted by The Master of Reality / B0B:
i made that directory container after adding
but when i go to any cgi script in that directory it just show the text of the script and doesnt execute it. Is there something somewhere else i have to set??
its Apache 1.3 on Slackware
[/b]
I believe because that is a subdirectory of an existing container (/var/www/html) which already has set the Options and does not include the ExecCGI. I believe it would work if you move that directory to something like "/var/www/ikonboard/cgi-bin". Or why not just turn on ExecCGI in /var/www/html and be done with it. Then you don't even need to have this added directory container. See this FAQ question for a reference:
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/misc/FAQ.html#options (http://httpd.apache.org/docs/misc/FAQ.html#options)
quote:
other problem:
I added
to httpd.conf but when i try to go to http://192.168.0.3:80 (http://192.168.0.3:80) it says cant connect, but i can go to http://192.168.0.3:8000 (http://192.168.0.3:8000) it works. Heres the strange thing, when i looked at the error_log it said that it couldnt bind to port 8000 when i started apache.
I did netstat (when apache wasnt running) and there is nothing at all using the internet (except of course SSH). Apache hates me, i've been lookin through the manual for a while and havent had any luck.
oh ya... i when i added teh listen stuff i also had
uncommented but according to the apache manual it will ignore the port command if Listen or BindAddress is specified.
[ November 29, 2002: Message edited by: The Master of Reality / B0B ][/b]
I don't believe you need to add extra Port tags. That is for the default server. Add Listen tags for ports you are going to use on your Virtual Server. http://httpd.apache.org/docs/bind.html (http://httpd.apache.org/docs/bind.html)
-
apache really does hate me. I added ExecCGI to the "/" directory container... didnt work
I added it to "/var/www/html" container... didnt work
I added it to both of them... didnt work.
It works on my other server with that method.
-
This may be a stupid question but do the scripts you are trying to run have a *.cgi extension, and is the executable bit set? I know you know about this stuff because you are doing it on your other server. But I have to ask. And I'll look into it some more in an hour or so...
-
First of all, do your CGI scripts work in your default cgi-bin directory?
If not, do you have the line
and/or
uncommented in the httpd.conf? If they do work in cgi-bin then you may need to add a "ScriptAlias".
[ November 30, 2002: Message edited by: void main ]
-
it works in the /var/www/cgi-bin/
it says in my error-log that the directory doesnt have ExecCGI enabled.